18 weeks pregnant…the internet is terrifying

So I searched ’18 weeks pregnant’ on google, like I do every Sunday (except the number changes, of course) and read about what’s going on with our little babe.

Apparently the whole world is out to scare the freaking bajeezus out of expectant moms:

“At this time if you had an ultrasound, heart abnormalities can be detected. If the ultrasound technician detects abnormalties, further ultrasound exams may be ordered to follow the baby’s development.”

Why  would you say something like that? I’m already nervous enough about good enough nutrition, downs, mental retardation, neural tube defects and C-sections. Do you really have to make me add heart abnormalities to my list? Honestly.

So, what is going on with little Mr/Miss Fingerholz, you ask? Well, since you survived that rant, here you are:

Kiddo is about 8 inches long from head to butt – the size of a baby doll – and weighs about 7oz so about the weight of a can of soda (well, that’s liquid ounces, but I’m sure you’ll forgive me). S/he is covered in lanuga, which is soft, tiny blond hair (sound familiar mom?) covering their body. Vernix, which is a white-ish cheesy substance (you know when the baby is born on TV and they look like they’re covered in cream cheese and strawberry jam? ‘Cause that’s exactly what it is on TV!) that keeps their skin from getting waterlogged. Pretty cool ay?

They baby can now hear you, so let the talking to my pooch commence. S/he also will start hiccuping and will start to create a recognizable sleep/wake pattern. Cool!

1 Comment »

  1. Megan Said:

    I’m so glad I found this. The only reason I get on EM anymore is to check for updates from you. I’m so happy everything is going well for you. I can’t believe you are almost halfway there! I just started a blog a couple days ago if you want to keep up with us too. http://mccormickbuzz.blogspot.com/

    When is it that you are coming to Fl again? I really hope we can meet up while you are here.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a comment