26 weeks pregnant, lists, and the plumber

Well, for the first time in a month, our little one is opening his or her eyes! The baby’s eyelids have been fused shut, but now s/he is blinking those beautiful baby blues all over the place. And yes, they are blue at this moment, but they’ll continue to change and develop their color until a few months after the baby is born.

I can’t wait to see how it turns out!

The baby has been lodging itself under my ribs on the right side, which has gotten mildly uncomfortable, and sleeping has gotten much more uncomfortable. I think I’m just going to start sleeping sitting up, since it won’t kill my hips.

This week there is a 70% chance of the baby surviving if it were born, which means that Jenny has to start calling it a baby, and not a fetus. 😛

We had a nice visit with Brooke and Joe yesterday. They have acquired much more baby stuff since last time we were there, and it got me thinking about what stuff I’m really going to need. Ack. I’ve put together a list for myself, and I’m going to start checking it off a little bit at a time. I LOVE lists. It’s the only way that I function, unfortunately.

I’ve also been thinking a lot about my birth, and wishing there was something that I could use to organize it. But, of course, it hasn’t happened yet, and when it does, I’ll be in labor, and hopefully not worrying too much about organizing. I watched several Ina Mae Gaskin videos on youtube, and it has me thinking about who’s going to be at my birth. She talks about how laughing is really good for labor. Who will come to make me laugh? Who will I feel implicitly comfortable with? These are such hard questions for me. I mean, nudity isn’t a big deal to me. I’ll be naked in front of practically anyone, but being comfortable with someone’s presence so that I can do what I need to do and not worry about them…? I suppose we shall see.

Also the plumber is coming tomorrow to save us from our hot water-less existence. If all goes well, I’ll be washing clothes and showering by tomorrow night, and then flushing my toilet and washing dishes by Friday. Sounds good to me, brother!

And here’s the photo!

26 weeks

Leave a Reply

