Toenails? Really!?

Apparently, our baby has grown itself a nice set of toenails! Wow. Can you imagine? Toenails. I don’t know why it’s such a big deal.

I suppose because it really is the finishing touches. There’s a pretty much fully cooked baby in my belly. It’s got fingers and toes, eyes, and ears, taste buds, ear drums, blue eyes (for now), and everything else. I mean, we’re still growing this little one’s brain (Dean assumes that our kid will be a  genius) and getting him or her nice and chubbed up – but that’s it.

Speaking of chubbed up, the baby weighs 4lb now! Good grief!!!

Way back at Christmas time, Dean bought me a gift certificate for a spa that specializes in pregnancy massage. I told him I was going to wait until I was ginormous and could REALLY benefit. I think that time has come. And really, there isn’t a whole lot of time left.

Maybe that’s why I feel so neurotic. I feel time squeezing in on me. I need to go get so much done before this babe is born. I mean, it’s now a matter of weeks, not months (well…in my brain) until the baby is born. 10 more weeks. Max. It could be as little as 6. That’s nothing. That’s me ordering something on the home shopping network and waiting for it to come.

And that is why Dean and I are going to count the omer this year. Our baby COULD be here on Shavuot. Or Father’s day, or a lot of other days. But this year it seems special to do because we ARE counting towards a harvest. We’re counting towards the harvest of our love in the form of our child.

I can’t wait to meet this little person.

2 Comments »

  1. Brooke Said:

    It’s amazing when waiting for a child coincides with waiting for something else important.

    Waiting through the winter (and through Lent) for Truman seemed like such a beautiful metaphor. It seems even more appropriate now. When I see the sun and the green grass and think “it’s spring,” I also think “I have baby.”

    I suspect our pregnancies will change the way we look at these times of year forever.

  2. mom Said:

    WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


{ RSS feed for comments on this post} · { TrackBack URI }

Leave a Reply

